Between the provinces of Salamanca and Zamora, the Arribes DO shares a protected area, the Parque Natural de Arribes del Duero.

There are around 450 hectares of registered cultivated land. The six Zamoran wineries protected by this DO produce their wine on mountainous terrain, marked by the sharp narrowing of the Duero and its tributaries in the granite of the Sayago batholiths. The main Zamoran cities in the region are the Pino del Oro, Villadepera, Villalcampo, Moral de Sayago, Badilla, Fariza, Mámoles, Fornillos de Fermoselle and Fermoselle.


The uniqueness of this region is defined by the varieties of grape that go into its wine. The main reds are the native variety Juan García, the Rufete and Tempranillo, while authorized varieties included in the DO are the Mencía and the Grenache. The main variety of white grape is the Malvasía, with the authorized Verdejo and Albillo. At the same time, there are grape varieties that are found in the last area of production in Arribes, and that are being brought back. Some examples are the Bruñal, the Bastardillo and the Puesto en Cruz.

Young reds are primarily made with the Juan García, Rufete and Tempranillovarieties. Those labelled as Crianza are aged for at least two years, including six months in oak barrels.

Rosés must contain at least 60% of the principle red varieties, while whites must have at least 60% Malvasía as their main variety.

Más Información en su Web Oficial